For more than 20 years, the beautiful farm of Grootkraal, where Wilgewandel Holiday Farm is situated today, was associated with the world famous Cango Caves.
It all started on the 11th of July 1780, when a farming pioneer and road builder, Jacobus van Zyl discovered the, Cango Caves on the western border of the farm. It led to an era where pioneers, explorers, scientists and even famous governors trampled the earth of this farm with their ox wagons in their search for the secrets of the cave.
The first guide at the Cango Caves was, Johnny van Wassenaar and the first manager of the Cango Caves was (Herman van der Veen) until 1924. Both stayed on the farm. The original homestead which was build during the 1850’s is still standing today. It is being used as the Wilgewandel Guesthouse at present.
Come and visit the cradle of the CANGO CAVES and experience the romance of a bygone era. The owners, George and Linda Muller have transformed this beautiful farm to its former glory so that visitors can experience the culture of the early settlers who lived on this farm.
Wilgewandel Holiday Farm wishes to establish a true South African experience with high quality of service and true Pioneer-style hospitality.